×
Menu

Guiding (Gear Tab)

 
This section shows the status and gives control over the guiding process. See Dithering and Guiding section for detailed information about the supported guiding applications / devices and the configuration of the connection.
 
 
Guiding (Gear Tab)
 
1

Connect / Disconnect

1.  Connect / Disconnect
 
Starts / Stops the guiding. If there is no active connection to the guiding application / device, Start button will make a connection first. Shift+Click on Settings button also makes connection.
 
2

Stats

2.  Stats
 
Shows in in real-time detailed information - the RA/Dec corrections (for the applications that provide this information) in pixels and arc-seconds. "T" shows the RMS (root-mean-square error) again in in pixels and arc-seconds.
 
3

Graph

3. Graph
 
Shows the guiding graph in real-time. For applications like PHD1 and Lin_Guider the graph will be one combined line for both directions. A re-sizable version of this graph is available in Graphs Aid.
 
4

Settings

4.  Settings
 
Opens the Guide Settings dialog box. APT can communicate with various guiding applications and devices. See Dithering and Guiding section.
 
The text on the button varies:
 
Settings
No dithering and Auto-Cancel enabled
Settings [C]
Dithering disabled, Auto-Cancel enabled
Settings [D]
Dithering enabled, Auto-Cancel disabled
Settings [D+C]
Both Dithering and Auto-Cancel enabled
 
Dithering is making small mount movements between the imaging exposures. This technique combined with at least 10 exposures and "sigma-clip", pixel rejection (or equivalent) staking method gives very good control over the noise, dark / hot pixels, satellite and airplane tracks.
 
Auto-Cancel is an APT feature that allows stopping a running exposure if the distance to the guiding star becomes bigger than a defined limit, in order to save imaging time or to save the already gathered data. For example - there is no need to wait 10 minutes if guiding ruined the exposure in the first minute.
 
Use Shift+Click on Settings button to close/reopen connection to the guiding application or device.